JFOC Staff 

 

Composed of experienced professionals and committed community leaders, our executives and staff bring an impressive array of experience and expertise to the table, covering such key areas as campaign development, marketing & communications, engagement & outreach, finance, operations, and more. Together, this team works to meet the needs of our community, today and for the future.

 

You can reach JFOC staff members at 949.435.3484 except as noted below.

 

Scott Kaufman
Transition Lead & Interim CEO  

 

Scott Kaufman is the former Chief Executive Officer of the Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Detroit and currently Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Leading Edge. Mr. Kaufman is regarded as one of the nation’s most innovative and effective Jewish community builders, and he is a national leader in the engagement of young adults in Jewish communal life. Under Mr. Kaufman’s leadership, the Detroit Federation saw steady growth of its Annual Campaign dollars, directed gifts, endowments, grants, and number of donors (especially young donors), and a 300% increase in young adult engagement. Scott also serves as Managing Partner of JLIVE a new Jewish communal technology platform and is a strategic advisor for a number of major foundations and Jewish organizations.

 

Lisa Armony 
Chief Impact Officer and Rose Project Director
Lisa@JFFS.org

 

Lisa Armony has served in strategic planning, educational and communications positions for Jewish organizations in Toronto, Canada and the U.S.  As Rose Project Director, she has been instrumental in implementing strategies that create a more civil campus climate for Jewish students on Orange County college campuses, spearheading efforts that create learning opportunities about Israel, empower Jewish student leaders, and support Jewish campus organizations. In 2015, she launched an experiential learning journey to Israel and the Palestinian Authority for diverse student leaders seeking to explore the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.  That program has been scaled to dozens of college campuses throughout the U.S. and Europe. She has also developed a variety of community education programs on Jewish identity, Israel and antisemitism, including an educational platform for teens that supports leadership development and counters bigotry and antisemitism in the greater Orange County community. As Chief Impact Officer, she oversees Federation’s strategic planning and granting and works closely with Community Partners to support community development and growth. A Magna cum Laude graduate of Cornell University, Lisa holds a Master’s degree in Political Science from Yale University, a Certificate in Israel Experiential Education from the iCenter and George Washington University, and is completing a second Master's degree in Jewish and Israel Education from The Hebrew University. She is also a Fellow in the Executive Leadership Program of the Mandel Institute for Nonprofit Leadership.

 

Stephanie Epstein
Chief Philanthropy Officer
Stephanie@JFFS.org

 

Stephanie Epstein has been a Jewish communal professional since starting her career in 2008. As a proud graduate of Jewish Federations of North America’s Fundraising University Program, Stephanie continues to live her passion of securing resources to support the community while pairing philanthropic passions with impact. Prior to serving as Jewish Federation of Orange County’s Chief Philanthropy Officer, Stephanie held roles such as Senior Director of Philanthropy, Interim Women’s Philanthropy Director, NextGen Director, and Manager of Shalom Family and PJ Library. Having been with the organization for over eight years, Stephanie has honed her skills of establishing strong fundraising operations and deepening relationships with donors and lay leadership. Prior to living in California, Stephanie worked for three years at the Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh within the young adult and campaign sphere. Stephanie was born and raised in the suburbs of Philadelphia and graduated from the University of Pittsburgh. She currently lives in Aliso Viejo with her husband and son.

 

Marsie Alford
Chief Financial Officer
Marsie@JFFS.org

 

Marsie Alford brings more than 25 years of accounting and finance experience to the Jewish Federation. She has most recently been an Adjunct Professor and an Accounting and Finance Consultant for such nonprofit client organizations as Union Station Homeless Services, Catholic Community Foundation, Society of Saint Vincent De Paul, and Human Options. Marsie has previously held executive finance roles for several nonprofits, including Make-a-Wish Foundation of Los Angeles, Southern California Alcohol and Drug Rehabilitation, and East Bronx Daycare Center, Inc., in New York. She also served on the Board of Directors for James Varick Community Center in New York, NY. Marsie began her career as an Accountant and Financial Analyst for a top Fortune 500 company and later as a Financial Advisor. She holds a Bachelor of Science & Arts in Accounting and an MBA.

Operations & Donor Services 

Kathleen Mellon

Senior Director, Operations
Kathleen@JFFS.org

Kay Williams
Donor Services & Operations Associate
Kay@JFFS.org

Eric Van Raalte

Donor Services Associate

eric@jffs.org

Jacob Francis 
Database Analyst / Developer
Jacob@JFFS.org

 

Lifelines

Nancy Almaleh
Case Manager, Emergency Assistance
Nancy@JFFS.org
949-435-3484, ext. 366

Engagement

Jillian Katz
Manager, PJ Library OC
Jillian@JFFS.org

Dustin Biton
Director, NextGen
Dustin@JFFS.org

Marketing, Communications & Events

Sharyl Holtzman
Director, Marketing & Communications
Sharyl@JFFS.org

Alexandra Mars
Director, Special Events 
AMars@JFFS.org

Nitzan Harel
Creative Director
Nitzan@JFFS.org

Philanthropy

Jahanna Semelroth
Director, Donor Relations
Jahanna@JFFS.org

Amy Cretaro

Manager, Campaign & Board Relations 

Amy@JFFS.org

Sebastian Feldman
Campaign Associate
Sebastian@JFFS.org

Ashley Wolf
Associate, Donor Relations 
Ashley@JFFS.org

Holocaust Survivor Program Orange County 
 

Funded by Jewish Federation of Orange County, services to Holocaust survivors residing in Orange County are provided by Jewish Family Service of San Diego. Contact Cally Clein, Director, Holocaust Survivor Program Orange County: CallyC@JFSSD.org

 

Holocaust survivor Tova Rotlevy-Cohen was born in Poland and grew up in Israel, where she immigrated at age four. She has been sculpting since 1975 when she moved to the United States. JFOC and JFS, in conjunction with its Aging with Dignity campaign, sponsored a showcase of the art of the Holocaust survivor community at Laguna Woods,  November 4, 2019.  Photo by Bill Alkofer, for OC Register